Pieces of Me

I give you a piece of me

to take with you when you leave,

a slice of my insides wrapped carefully

in bright tissue paper

and tied around and around with soft ribbon.

I give you a piece of me

cushioned in sweet words

and presented in a velvet box specially made,

a trinket for you to keep, to cherish

or leave untouched in the back of a drawer.

I give you a piece of me,

carved from the soft flesh

under this porcelain skin you see,

a piece of warmth and life

hollowed out just for you.

I give you a piece of me

so when the last of you leaves

and drops me to the ground

my cold, hollow body will shatter

and I will not feel the pain.

Leave a Reply

